Monthly Favourites

March + April Favourites!

Since I’ve had a bit of a break from the blogging I’ve merged my March and April favourites. Doing this means it’s going to be a bit of a long one so be prepared. As I get closer to my goal of being a makeup artist I’ve really tried to branch out and try a few different things but I’ve also had to keep my personal purchases on a budget because let me tell you, building a MUA kit is by no means cheap! So although there’s a high end product or two included if you’re looking for some tried and tested cheap alternatives, you’re reading the right post!

Morphe #601 Black – £4

Lashes are something in makeup I was late to learn. I just could not master them. I watched video after video and practised with cheap ones until I could finally put them on with confidence. Now that I feel comfortable with them I’ve been trying which ones I like best and these are my current favourite! They’re long without being so long they tickle my brows and are thick without being too much. They’re perfect for me and I’ll definitely be getting some back ups. I think the spikey lashes are becoming my go to, I love the way they complete a look.

MAC Velvet Teddy – £16.50

I refused to get this shade purely because it seems so so common. (Bit silly I know) But I was looking for a new nude and I liked this before I realised the name. It’s such a beautiful colour and I can’t believe I haven’t had my hands on it sooner. I won’t bore you with anymore details because if you haven’t heard loads about this lipstick then where have you been?!

Makeup Revolution Setting Spray – £5

I was gutted when my Urban Decay Setting Spray ran out and I didn’t have the money to repurchase it at the time. Aside from making my own I have never really ventured further with Setting Sprays and I wasn’t sure where to start, especially while looking on a budget. I thought I’d go with one of my most trusted drugstore brands, Makeup Revolution. If you read my post’s it’s no secret that I love their products and this is no exception. I don’t think I could go back to Urban Decay now because I actually really notice the difference this makes to my makeup. It brightens everything up and helps everything look seamless. It really keeps everything in place and I’ve of course made sure I’ve got this in my kit as well! Another win for MR!

Makeup Revolution Rose Gold Lipsticks – £3

While we’re on the subject of MUR being a more affordable option without comprising quality I am really obsessing over these Lipsticks. I have written about two of the shades before in my Makeup Revolution Review – Lips but I’ve since brought two more shades and these really are beautiful Lipsticks. They’re the same shape of a MAC lipstick but in rose gold which means they’re a gorgeous aesthetic on my lipstick stand. The Lipsticks themselves are a creamy matte with gorgeous pigmentation and staying power. At £3 I think I’ll have the full collection in no time!

Maybelline Fit Me Foundation – £5.99

My new favourite foundation EVER. It’s such good coverage but it isn’t thick or hard to work with. I love the massive shade range which is why it’s the foundation I’m using in my MUA kit. It dries pretty much matte but not so much that you can’t work with concealer. I find with most matte foundations unless you work fast concealer sits on top rather than blends and nobody wants that. This is the perfect middle though and I’m finding it a chore to reach for anything else.

MAC Extra Dimension Skin Finish – Beaming Blush – £24.50

Oh the glow. I am undoubtedly in love with this. It’s such a big pan and you don’t need much for a good pay off so I have no qualms over the price tag. It has hints of glitter but it isn’t overpowering. If you haven’t tried a MAC highlight then you need to now!

Nivea Men Sensitive Post Shave Balm as a primer – £4

When I first came across this on youtube I naturally thought wtf? After a few times of seeing it recommended I thought it was time to give it a try. My only negative about this is the masculine smell but once you get past it, this is a brilliant primer. You only need a tiny amount and considering it isn’t costly it is a good product to keep on hand. It is glycerine based which is why it works so well as a makeup primer. I find it works best if I pat it on so it becomes quite tacky. It really keeps your makeup on all day and also works as an extra moisturiser. If you can deal with smelling manly for a few minutes then this is pretty much a perfect all rounder product.

So, these are the products I have been really loving the past two months. Have you tried any of these? Let me know what you think!

Kisses

LeaLou xo

Leave a Reply

